Project 12

Discovering Discipleship in the 21st Century

Love Language Number One

Posted by gkaiser on March 31, 2008

I get a daily devo. emailed to me by a longtime friend. One morning this is what I found in my inbox:”Is life not full of opportunities for learning love? Every man and woman every day has a thousand of them. The world is not a playground; it is a schoolroom. Life is not a holiday, but an education. And the one eternal lesson for us all is how better we can love. -Henry Drummond

MK. 12. 30 & 31
And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind, and with all your strength: this is the first commandment.
And the second is like it, namely this, You shall love your neighbour as yourself. There is no other commandment greater than these.

We all know that loving, really loving our friends, even our spouse and children is at times a difficult and yes, sacrificial thing. Love is far more than words, feelings, sexuality, more than legal covenants or sharing property. It’s more than the giving of ones time or effort. Love certainly includes all of these and more -but what is love, really?

Years ago we heard teaching from several quarters of the church that in short, dealt with the phrase “love language”. In very brief, it addressed the fact that not everyone shares the same primary definition of what it means to be loved by others.

As I prepared a devo. for Project 12 based on all this, I wondered what God’s primary love language might be? In interaction with Jesus while the Lord walked on earth, what was the Father looking for that demonstrated His Son’s love for Him and for that matter, all of us?

Of course we immediately think about His sacrifices, daily, weekly and certainly of His arrest, beatings, utter rejection and final crucifixion that we might be forgiven all our sin and inherit eternal life. But what about His daily relationship to the Father, His disciples and all those who gathered around Him, many in great need?

In years past my wife Wendi named what she believed to be -her- love language. I have come to believe it is probably the same as our heavenly Father’s…

In Luke 22.27b Jesus tells His disciples “…but I am in the midst of you as one who serves.”

Paul writes to the Galatian Christ-followers (5.13) “by love serve one another.”

Ouch! There are a -lot- of verses that speak about serving God and one another in the Word of God but these seem to speak very simply and directly to me. I’m constantly convicted of how poor a servant I can be and often am. That’s just the truth. But serving God in whatever small or large ways is directly linked to serving His children whether or not they walk with Him at the present time.

I could not be more convinced that “serve” may (theologically speaking) be near the top of the list of words that in the end are synonymous with God’s idea of what love looks like and what it actually IS.

May we serve via thoughts, words, emotions, simple or great acts of kindness, time, listening and many other means? Certainly! In the end, it’s likely to be the daily, garden-variety acts of serving that most spell L-O-V-E to God and His children just as they clarify and express what biblical worship is.

I wonder how many of us “get it”? I wonder how often I really -give- it?

My prayer is: God- help me to love as YOU define it. You know I can’t do anything without You… nothing of any real value without Jesus. Lord- help me to love.

Leave a Reply

 
